Online Graduate Community
The Online Graduate Community is an online group specifically for graduates of the Palouse Mindfulness MBSR course. Some graduates are very active, sharing insights, questions, and resources, while others simply stay on the sidelines to enjoy what the others are sharing and learning.
What is the purpose of the Online Graduate Community?
Members are able to connect with other graduates, near and far, who share the common experience of taking the Palouse Mindfulness course. This is a way for graduates to share things that they've found valuable, describe what they are learning, ask questions of other graduates, or simply to get a sense of who is in their cohort. Also, graduates may be able to find other graduates in their geographical area (they have access to a map similar to the Map of Graduates on this site, but providing a way, through Facebook, of contacting others in the online group).
Who are the members of this online group?
All Palouse Mindfulness graduates are invited to join, but not everyone chooses to do this. Currently, of the over 900 graduates, about a third of them are members of the Online Graduate Community.
Why is this restricted to Palouse Mindfulness Graduates?
The primary reason is to create a feeling of safety, so people would know that they are interacting only with other people who have themselves gone through what can be a very intense and personal course. Another reason for restricting membership to graduates is to not have the group get to be so big that individual voices get lost or that people get overwhelmed with dozens and dozens of messages every day. For a Facebook group, this is a real danger, because a message may only stay at the top of the page for a very short time if there is too much traffic, and important posts may never get read and earnest questions may get ignored.
Who can see what's on the website?
Only members can see what is posted, and membership is restricted to graduates of the Palouse Mindfulness course. This is a "closed" Facebook group, meaning the membership in the group is invitation-only, and only members can make or view postings.
If I join, will I be inundated with Facebook messages?
How notification occurs is highly configurable. For instance, you can choose not to ever get an email message about a posting and instead see postings in your Facebook Newsfeed, or you can choose not to ever get notifications in any form and instead just visit the site at your own convenience. If you do not have a Facebook page, you will be invited to create one. If you are not a fan of social media, you have the option of using your Facebook membership strictly for participation in the online graduate group.